Seven Dimension of Spiritually Intelligent Leadership



The seven dimensions of Spiritual Intelligent Leadership (SIL) and their associated competencies are diagrammed and defined below:

Purpose Service Vision Difficulties-Opportunities Trust Beauty Joy Gratitude Centeredness Integrity Confidence Freedom Connectedness Synthesis Holism Attention Intention Empowered Passion Egolessness Openness Intuition Higher-Self Devotion Practice Meaning Grace Inner-Directed Community Presence Truth Wisdom
Spiritually Intelligent Leadership
Comprehensive Assessment
Inspired Leadership
54 items self-assessment
(15 minutes)
Comprehensive report with development tips

Spiritually Intelligent Leadership
360º Assessment
Inspired Leadership
54 items self-assessment
(15 minutes)
54 items 360 feedback
(15 minutes)
Comprehensive report with 360 feedback and development tips

1. Mobilizing Meaning: Mobilizing meaning for the organization by articulating a vision for service and instilling a sense of purpose.

Awakening Purpose: Identify and maintain focus on the deeper values and mission that drive you and your organization.

Inspiring Service: Answer the question, “Why are we here?” Articulate how your work and organization serve needs and add value to those around you and to the world.

Articulate Vision: Painting a detailed and compelling picture of the future.

Reframing Difficulties into Opportunities: Finding meaning in adversity and setbacks. Relating to them as opportunities for growth and learning.


2. Interacting with Grace: Leading and interacting with dignity, beauty, and joy in such a way as to awaken hope, trust, celebration, and gratitude in ourselves and others.

Trust: Inspiring confidence, optimism, and hope for the future in yourself and in others.

Beauty: Recognizing the sparkle of life’s creative intelligence that shines through, in, and around us.

Joy: Radiating delight and bringing lighthearted playfulness, humor, and celebration to your engagements.

Gratitude: Appreciating ourselves, the people, the learning, and all the gifts we receive along the way.


3. Becoming Inner-Directed: Aligning with and inspiring others from your inner core of authenticity, freedom, confidence, and centeredness.

Centeredness: Staying calm, collected, grounded, and in command even amidst chaos and uncertainty.

Integrity: Being discerning and standing firm and in alignment with your values and truth.

Confidence: Expressing your unique, authentic self with ease, and comfort in your own skin.

Freedom: Thinking and acting creatively outside the box and breaking free from outside norms and conventions.


4. Cultivating Community: Fostering relatedness, teamwork, collaboration, and unity in and around your organization.

Connectedness: Feeling and cultivating connection and interpersonal relationships with others that are based on kinship, mutual understanding, collaboration, empathy, and compassion.

Synthesis: Finding connection and common ground by synthesizing conflicting or even paradoxical viewpoints into coherent, wider, and more inclusive perspectives.

Holism: Taking a wide and holistic “systems view” when looking at organizational situations and problems.


5. Showing Up Wih Authentic Presence: Bringing your full attention, focus, clarity of intention, and embodied power to every moment and interaction.

Attention: Being focused and present to what and who are in front of you.

Intention: Bringing awareness and clarity of purpose and intention to your engagements and interactions.

Empowered: Feeling and expressing your personal power that is embodied, strong, and grounded.

Passion: Emanating vigor, aliveness, and wholehearted devotion to your purpose.


6. Motivating Based on Truth: Orienting yourself and others primarily based on an open interest in the truth rather than on ego gratification.

Egolessness: Remaining humble and non-defensively open to hearing the truth from others’ perspectives and being interested in their feedback.

Openness: Staying curious and accepting of the truth. Learning and growing without defensiveness, resistance, or resentment.


7. Utilizing Your Inner Wisdom: Tapping into your intuition and inner wisdom, providing a wide perspective.

Intuition: Tapping into your gut sense, instinctive feelings, and other modes of knowing that augment strictly analytical and rational thinking in order to gain insight, creativity, or make important decisions.

Higher-Self: Connecting with and receiving guidance from parts of you that can access your higher, inner wisdom.

Devotion: Harnessing the power that comes from alignment with, and loyalty and devotion to, a force or cause greater than your individual self.

Practice: Applying practices to gain fresh new perspectives through times set for reflection, relaxation, and recharging.